American Indian Language Revitalization

Using a combination of the following key terms will aid you in your search for information about American Indian language revitalization:

• American Indian 
• Native American 
• Language Revitalization 
• Language Revival Efforts
• Language Loss 

• The databases listed below provide access to a host of scholarly sources and electronic publications such as books, articles, and magazines. 
• Note: these are restricted databases and require institutional subscription. 
• Make sure your institution has access to these databases if not ask your university or local librarian about acquiring access. 
• When composing queries select "Advanced Search," utilize the key terms listed under "Search Terms" located beneath the purple tabs on this page then filter your results according to the databases' options listed such as publication type, document type, language, or ethnic group. 
• A free alternative to these databases is Google Scholar -- you can find the search box in the left column under "Alternatives to Restricted Databases."

• Alt-Press Watch. 1970-Present. (ProQuest)

Updated monthly, this database has wide coverage of subjects on policy, culture, and local and national issues. Acknowledged as an alternative source of information, they provide non-mainstream perspectives on US government, policy, and culture. Utilizing key terms “American Indian,” “Native American,” “language revitalization,” “language revival” yields a variety of electronic publications. Access requires an institutional subscription. 

• Bibliography of Native North American. Dates of coverage vary. (EBSCOhost)

Updated regularly, this database comprehensively covers indigenous culture, history, and life in North America. Subject coverage consists of archaeology, multicultural relations, governance, literacy, and much more. Utilizing key term “American Indian” yields more sources than “Native American. Supplement “American Indian” with “language revitalization,” and/or “language revival” for better results. Access requires an institutional subscription. 

• Ethnic NewsWatch. 1985-Present. (ProQuest) 

This database is recognized for its extensive coverage of ethnicities and ethnic studies and providing access to overlooked perspectives through newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic and minority press. Utilizing key terms “American Indian,” “Native American,” “language revitalization,” and “language revival” yields a wide variety of electronic publications. Access requires an institutional subscription.