The Alutiiq Museum has a deep commitment to the Kodiak Archipelago, the geographic center of the Alutiiq world. The Museum cares for more than 250,000 items reflecting the culture and history of the Alutiiq people such as archaeological materials, photographs, ethnographic objects, archival items, film & audio recordings, and natural history specimens.
Highlights of the collection include:
Alutiiq Museum Language Archive (187 items; digital audios available here) – The project serves as the backbone for the next phase of Alutiiq language revitalization. Among the recordings is Joe Kelly Interviews Larry Matfay in which Larry Matfay discusses ciqlluaq (sod house) construction. (2 digital audios here) and Reed Interviews that includes Alutiiq songs, stories, and Church services. (10 digital audios here)
seum (Lakeside, CA) The Barona Cultural Center & Museum is dedicated to preserving the Native American culture and history of San Diego County. The collection holds more than 3,000 artifacts, listening alcoves, photographic displays, and archives with four discrete components: the Object Collections, Photo Archive, Media Archive, and Paper Archive.
Among the exhibits:
'Ekur 'emaayaayp Barona Indian Reservation, A Story of 75 Years of Unity - A timeline that tells the story of the Barona people and their Reservation. The people have 'Ekur 'emaayaayp (stayed together) through the years; during difficult times and good times, they have grown and prospered.
HHF stewards a diverse variety of materials including historic and cultural photographs/images, audio and visual recordings, articles and papers specific to the Hoonah Tlingit culture and language. The reference library has approximately 250 books pertinent to Alaska Native and Tlingit culture and history.
Some highlights of the collection:
Melvin Williams Collection -- carved totems, sculptures, panels, paddles and masks by David Williams.
Contemporary Collection - - A stone carving or clay sculpture communicates Iroquois values, humor, concerns, or thoughts about their future. The art is further influenced by a rich oral tradition and strong cultural continuity.
Historical Collection --- The Iroquois Museum specializes in researching the ethnohistory of the Schoharie Mohawk, with a large library of copies of original papers and records from the 1600s and 1700s. New trading markets, technologies, alliances, and religions affected the lives of Iroquois women and men.
Archaeological Collection --- Modern Iroquois creative culture has grown out of ancient traditions in New York that can be traced back archeologically some 10,000 years. The Museum's discovery of the home of the pre-Revolutionary Schoharie Mohawks and the oldest (9600-year-old) site in Schoharie County are particularly emphasized in the archeological exhibits.
The Museum's collection of art and ethnographic objects now exists online. Images of some representative items are below:
Doll-Cornhusk-Traditional -- Female cornhusk doll legs. Black yarn braids, deerskin headband, flowered shirt, black cloth leggings and skirt. Clear blue double strand necklace.
Rattle -- Large snapping turtle rattle. Neck extended and supported with vertical wooden splints on either side wrapped horizontally with leather stripping. Wooden dowel placed inside neck & head to provide strength. Rattlers placed in shell.
Basket – Thimble -- Black ash splint & sweetgrass thimble basket with lid and simple ash splint loop handle.
The museum interprets and houses 300-500-year-old artifacts recovered from the Ozette Archeological site. There are also other historic and replica pieces and photographs related to the Makah Tribe on display year-round.
Archives and Library Department of the Makah Museum houses and preserves photographs, textual records, audio and visual recordings and provides support to community and scholarly research needs. Makah Language Programs conducts research, documentation analysis, curriculum development, and teaching of the Makah Language to the Neah Bay Elementary and High School. Tribal Historic Preservation Office -- The Tribal Historic Preservation Office (THPO) manages the Tribe’s archeological, ethnographic and historic collections. THPO also oversees the management of cultural properties on the Makah Indian Reservation.
Features 85,000 square feet of permanent, indoor exhibitions including life-size dioramas, films, and interactive computer programs. Highlights of the permanent collection include:
Arrival of the People -- Nine Native American artists provided contemporary works of art to visually represent their tribe’s creation story. Complementing the artwork, an adjacent mini-theater shows storytellers relating parts of their own creation stories in their Native languages.
Ethnographic and Contemporary Art Collections -- The Pequot Museum has more than 2,000 objects that illustrate the continuing artistic and cultural traditions of Native peoples in the Eastern Woodlands from the 1600s to the present. The Ethnographic Collection includes historical items made, gathered, and used by Native peoples primarily of the Eastern Woodlands and especially New England.
The purpose of the OLC Archives is to collect, preserve and make accessible for research purposes the permanent records of Oglala Lakota College, the Oglala Sioux Tribe and the American Indian Higher Education Consortium, in order to help document the founding, development, organization, management and achievements of these three institutions. The OLC Archives also collects, preserves and makes accessible historical and cultural records of the Oglala Lakota people, the Lakota Nation, and other Native Americans. Sources for these records include government agencies, private foundations, the business community, other tribal organizations, and individuals.
Seaver Center for Western History Research (Natural History Museum, Los Angeles County)
The purpose of the Seaver Center is to collect, preserve, and make accessible to the general public research materials documenting the history of the trans-Mississippi West, with special emphasis on Southern California and Los Angeles. The collection includes manuscripts, books, serials, pamphlets, broadsides, maps, posters, prints, and photographs. Collection guides, finding aids, and documentation for collections are also available in the Online Archive of California
The collections of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s Sequoyah National Research Center constitute the largest assemblage of Native American expression in the world. The Center acquires and preserves the writings and ideas of Native North Americans through collecting the written word and art of Native Americans and creating a research atmosphere that invites indigenous peoples to make the Center an archival home for their creative work.
Tells the story of the People of the Water and depicts the relationship between Squaxin Island Tribal members and the seven inlets of South Puget Sound. Among the legends are those about the first Salmon, the great flood, Salish Cliffs; the Crying Loon and others.
Keeps valuable records of the Cherokee People and makes them available to the public, now and in the future. The records in our collection trace the events and decisions that shaped the Cherokee nation. An appointment with the Archivist required for access to the Archives.
Documents the life and culture of the Narragansett people of Southeastern New England. Has a podcast program.
The Archive (UAIDA) is a gateway to the resources related to Utah’s Indian tribes, including articles, books, government documents, tribal documents, oral histories, photographs, and maps pertaining to the Northwestern Shoshone, Goshute, Paiute, Utah Navajo, White Mesa, and Ute Indians.
The Ute Indian Museum connects the past with contemporary Ute life and culture. Exhibits focus on the Ute peoples’ history of adaptation and persistence. Visitors can explore topics of Ute cultural survival, political determination, economic opportunity, and the celebration of the Bear Dance. Bibliographies on various topics on the subject of American Indian history in the Colorado region.