American Indian Records in the National Archives
The National Archives preserves and makes available the documents created by Federal agencies. Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid-1990s.
Indigenous Law Resources (Library of Congress)
A collection of primary and secondary sources pertaining to Indigenous law. Provides research guides and starting points; lists some indigenous legal organizations and federal agencies.
LLMC is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. LLMC provides libraries with a reliable and budget-friendly source of digital replacement when their older, physically deteriorating books became too burdensome to store given diminished use. Digitized copies are viewable online free of charge.
Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
A cooperative effort of the University of Oklahoma Law Center, the National Indian Law Library (NILL), and Native American tribes provides access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents. Tribal documents are either placed online with the permission of the tribes, or they are U.S. Government documents, rightfully in the public domain. Also provides links to additional relevant resources.
Tribal Court Clearinghouse: A Project of the Tribal Law and Policy Institute
A website established to serve as a resource for American Indian and Alaska Native Nations, American Indian and Alaska Native people, tribal justice systems, victims’ services providers, tribal service providers, and others involved in the improvement of justice in Indian country. Contains extensive resources on tribal, state, and federal law along with extensive Indian country subject-matter resources.