Nineteenth-century Plains Indian drawings are often called “ledger” drawings because they were made with pencil, ink, and watercolor on pages of old ledger or account books. Lasting for nearly 70 years, ledger art was a transitional medium that mirrored the changes in Plains Indian life at the time. The Project facilities the digitization of the Plains drawings created during the 1860-1900 period and promotes its preservation, research, and public access. The project’s resources are accessible free of charge
Stephen Mopope Paintings (Brown University)
Stephen Mopope was a Kiowa painter, dancer, and Native American flute player from Oklahoma. He was the most prolific member of the group of artists known as the Kiowa Six. This collection contains 7 gouache paintings that Mopope created between 1929-1933. Each one is signed and dated by Mopope.
Tribal Writers Digital Library (Sequoyah National Research Center)
Hosted by the University of Arkansas at Little Rock, this digital library features out of print works by American Indians, Alaska Natives, and First Nations people of Canada. The project seeks to broaden what the term "Native writing" means by publishing works which originally appeared in “ephemeral” sources and the periodical press, especially in those publications edited and produced by Natives.
Among the items in the collection are:
Antiques of Cherokee Indians. Compiled from the Collection of Rev. Daniel Sabin Buttrick. Published at Vinita, Ind. Ter., during the year 1884
Songs of the Spavinaw, by Ruth Margaret Muskrat
The Genius of Sequoyah.by Jim Parins
Dawnland Voices 2.0: Indigenous Writing from New England and the Northeast
This website showcases the wide variety of literature produced by Native people from this region. Tribal archives and contemporary authors are contributing individual items from their collections: letters, political petitions, stories, and photographs.
North American Indian Drama (from alexanderstreet.com)
The collection together 250+ full-text plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. Many of the plays are previously unpublished or hard to find, and they represent a wealth of dramatic material that is often overlooked or inaccessible.
Native American Films Available Online
Motion pictures featuring Native Americans were produced and collected by the federal government for a variety of reasons- documenting events or government functions, advertising, and public education.