Nearly 200 years (1828-2016) of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities. This resource has been developed with, and has only been made possible by, the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned.
Historical Indigenous and Native American Newspapers Online (from The Ancestor Hunt)
Although there are many Indigenous American newspapers that have been published over the last two hundred years or so, listed here are only those that are available online. Organized by state.
Chronicling America: Newspapers of Indigenous Peoples of North America (from the Library of Congress).
Provides access to America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. The U.S. Newspaper Directory (top right, above the project’s ribbon) shows information about American newspapers published from 1690 to present.
American Indian Histories and Cultures
Ranging from the 16th to the 20th century, this digital resource provides access to material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection. Contains primary and secondary documents such as artwork, speeches, petitions, diaries, journals, correspondence, early linguistic and ethnographic accounts, photographs, maps, rare books and newspapers. The newspapers from the 1960s-1990s document such topics as civil rights and the Red Power movement, the occupation of Alcatraz and environmental issues. (Institutional access)
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Gale's Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers -- a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database -- provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. (Access by subscription. A free trial can be requested).
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876
Offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. (a part of the America's Historical Newspapers database)(Access by subscription)
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
“The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.”
California Digital Newspaper Collection, 1846-1922 [1849 - 1911] 
Contains significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-1922 (564,984 issues comprising 6,026,128 pages and 42,398,323 articles). Users will need to create a free account in order to download PDFs. Browsing by title, date, county, and tag available.
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, antiwar activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
International Coalition on Newspapers (ICON) 
The ICON database is a comprehensive source of information about significant newspaper collections in print, digital and micro formats. The database is designed to inform library decisions on the development, management and preservation of newspaper collections.
Ethnic NewsWatch
The database was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature. It remains the only multi-cultural and multi-ethnic database of current periodicals. The publications include scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as important grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses themselves and in full-text. The collection spans more than two million full-text articles from 390 publications. (Access by Institutional subscription). A guide to the database is here
The largest historical newspaper database online. Every newspaper in the database is fully searchable by keyword and date. The directory of all newspapers is under the tab PUBLICATIONS (top right). (7-day free trial available)
