Tommaney Library: Pipeline Protests: Enbridge Line 3 and Line 5: Online Resources

Academic Databases

The American Indian Experience
As part of The American Mosaic series, this database provides in-depth coverage on indigenous peoples of North America. Search by Category, Era, State, Region, or by Tribe. The American Indian Experience occasionally needs a user name and password. USERNAME: Haskell PASSWORD: Indian
Environment Complete
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. Contains millions of records and provides full text access to nearly 1,000 journals.

Scholarly Articles

Huettl, Margaret. 2021. “Treaty Stories: Reclaiming the Unbroken History of Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwe Sovereignty” 68 (2): 215–36. https://doi.org/10.1215/00141801-8801840.

Nesper, Larry. 2011. “Law and Ojibwe Indian ‘Traditional Cultural Property'' in the Organized Resistance to the Crandon Mine in Wisconsin.” Law & Social Inquiry 36 (1): 151–69.

Raster, Amanda, and Christina Gish Hill. 2017. “The Dispute Over Wild Rice: An Investigation of Treaty Agreements and Ojibwe Food Sovereignty.” Agriculture and Human Values : Journal of the Agriculture, Food, and Human Values Society 34 (2): 267–81. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10460-016-9703-6.

Encyclopedias

MNopedia
The MNopedia is a subject (Minnesota) encyclopedia that offers a wide range of information pertaining to state-wide issues. These entries are helpful to interested parties looking to gain a better understanding of Minnesota. The article “Wild Rice and the Ojibwe” offers an in depth look into the connection between the Ojibwe people and wild rice (https://www.mnopedia.org/thing/wild-rice-and-ojibwe.).
more...less...
Source: Minnesota Historical Society. “MNopedia”. Accessed February 26, 2022. https://www.mnopedia.org/thing/wild-rice-and-ojibwe.

Government & Legal Resources

Harvard Law Regulatory Tracker
The Harvard Law Regulatory Tracker was developed by the Energy and Environmental Law Program at Harvard University and is a tool devised to track environmental legal issues as they progress through the legal system. This site notes the current status of the issue, why it is legally important, provides a timeline of events, and offers update notifications for desired searches. Although the associated link will navigate you to the Enbridge Line 3 regulatory tracker, searching for “Pipeline protests” from the home page (https://eelp.law.harvard.edu/) will yield various legal analyses for researching both the Enbridge Line 3 and Line 5, as well as the protests of many other pipelines.
more...less...
Source: Energy and Environmental Law Program, Harvard University. “Harvard Law Regulatory Tracker”. Accessed February 25, 2022. https://eelp.law.harvard.edu/2021/10/enbridge-line-3/.

Michigan.gov
Michigan (Line 5 in Michigan) is a state agency website that offers information pertaining to federal, state, local, and tribal aspects of the Line 5 project. This website offers public records pertaining to projects involving the state. To gain access to these public records concerning Line 5, search phrases such as “Michigan Line 5".
more...less...
Source: State of Michigan. "Line 5 in Michigan". (2022). Accessed March 2022. https://www.michigan.gov/line5/.
Minnesota.gov
Minnesota is a state agency website that offers information pertaining to federal, state, local, and tribal aspects of the state. This website offers project-related documents for projects involving the state, and as the Minnesota Public Utilities Commission is responsible for oversight and permitting for energy projects in Minnesota this site offers project-related materials surrounding energy projects. To gain access to records concerning Enbridge pipelines 3 and 5, search phrases such as “Enbridge pipeline” and “Line 3 pipeline protest”.
more...less...
Source: Minnesota. “Minnesota”. Accessed February 25, 2022. https://mn.gov/.

National Transportation Safety Board
The National Transportation Safety Board is an independent Federal agency charged with investigating accidents caused by various modes of transportation including, but not limited to, pipelines. Additionally, the site provides access to documentation associated with previous accidents which can be filtered by state, city, reviewer, content type, or mode of transportation. To recover documents associated with Enbridge pipelines, filter using mode of transportation (pipelines) and search for “Enbridge”, “Enbridge pipeline spills”, “Enbridge Line 3”, or "Enbridge Line 5".
more...less...
Source: National Transportation Safety Board (NTBS). National Transportation Safety Board. Accessed February 25, 2022. https://www.ntsb.gov.

Additional Sources

Source: https://learningpath.org/eguides/Journalism.html

Grist
News article on how Line 3 can impact the wild rice lakes in northern Minnesota.
more...less...
Source: Herr, Alexandria. "The Line 3 protests are about more than climate change." Grist. (2021). Accessed March 2022. https://grist.org/food/line-3-pipeline-protests-enbridge-wild-rice-treaty-rights/.

Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is a Wisconsin newspaper that covers a variety of concerns surrounding local and state-wide issues. The article "Here’s what you should know about the protests over Enbridge’s controversial northern Minnesota Line 3 pipeline" by Laura Schulte discusses the Enbridge pipeline 3 and pipeline 5 project details and the implications of the for the indigenous community. The associated link will navigate to this article.
more...less...
Source: Laura Schulte. “Here’s what you should know about the protests over Enbridge’s controversial northern Minnesota Line 3 pipeline”. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Accessed February 28, 2022. https://www.jsonline.com/story/news/2021/06/24/enbridge-line-3-pipeline-what-know-minnesota-protests/5308120001/.

Minnesota Public Radio (MPR)
The Minnesota Public Radio news outlet discusses a variety of pertinent topics from across the state. By using the search phrase “Ojibwe”, numerous articles emerge regarding tribal issues. These range from Ojibwe land treaties dating back to 1837, wild rice harvesting, Enbridge Pipeline 3 movements, and various other tribal discussions. Additionally, by searching for “Enbridge Pipeline”, “Enbridge Pipeline 5”, or “Pipeline Protestors” numerous articles emerge surrounding the development of both pipelines, with the most recent articles dating to February 2022.
more...less...
Source: Minnesota Public Radio. “MPR News: Minnesota Public Radio”. Accessed February 25, 2022. https://www.mprnews.org/.

Native News Online
Native News Online is an online news media site that reports on a variety of indigenous issues including current events, sovereignty, health, environmental, educational, and arts & entertainment. This news outlet offers a Native perspective in the aforementioned topics, including discussion on Enbridge projects. Use the search phrase “Enbridge pipeline 5” to yield recent results for both Pipeline 3 and Pipeline 5.
more...less...
Source: Native News Online. “Native News Online”. Accessed February 25, 2022. https://nativenewsonline.net/.

Earth Justice
This article discusses the Line 5 project details and environmental concerns from an indigenous perspective. This article also provides a link to the Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) report surrounding Line 5.
more...less...
Source: Sivaraman, Bala. "How a Shoddy Environmental Review Could Cause a Catastrophic Oil Spill in Wisconsin". Earth Justice. (January 31, 2022). Accessed March 2022. https://earthjustice.org/blog/2022-january/line-5-pipeline-wisconsin-bad-river-explainer#:~:text=Line%205%20is%20a%20645,1%20million%20gallons%20of%20oil.

Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council
The Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council is a nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting Michigan waterways. This article discusses water issues in the state including various pipeline discussion pertaining to the state. By searching for “crude oil vs. tar sands”, various articles emerge pertaining to the difference between crude oil and oil sands (also referred to as tar sands oil), as well as Enbridge pipeline 5.
more...less...
Source: Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council. “Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council”. Accessed February 25, 2022. https://www.watershedcouncil.org/crude-vs-oil-sands.html.

Enbridge
Enbridge is the largest energy producer in North America and has the largest pipeline system on the continent. This company accommodates liquid pipelines, gas transmissions, gas utilities, and renewable energy. By searching this site for “Enbridge pipeline 3” and “Enbridge pipeline 5” you can get project-specific details surrounding where pipelines are located, pipeline size and length, and their take on environmental pipeline issues.
more...less...
Source: Enbridge. Enbridge. Accessed February 28, 2022. https://www.enbridge.com/.

Pipeline Protests: Enbridge Line 3 and Line 5

Advice

Suggested Search Words or Phrases

Academic Databases

Scholarly Articles

Encyclopedias

Government & Legal Resources

Additional Sources