The following resources direct patrons to online encyclopedias, databases and a university's guide on comic books.
While the links do not pertain solely to Indigenous and Native graphic novels, they are all excellent starting points for users interested in learning more about comics. Please note that patrons using the Grand Comics Database (GCB) are best served if they already know author names or comic titles. Wikipedia's "List of Native American Superheroes" is an excellent place for users to get a quick summary of the history of Native representation in comics, organized alphabetically by publisher and medium (print, television, radio, film and video games).
Clicking on the images below will take users to the associated page.
Grand Comic Books Database, Accessed March 21, 2019.
A non-profit open database run by international volunteers, Grand Comics Database (GCD) has indexed over 10,000 issues and has approximately 30,000 comics total. GCD operates is an extensive database – giving users brief synopses of books, along with information about characters, genre, inkers and cover variants.
Wikipedia, s.v. “Graphic Novel,” last modified March 21, 2019.
An encyclopedic look at the definition and history of graphic novels. From the earliest recognized American graphic novel, The Adventures of Obadiah Oldbuck, to contemporary Eisner winning titles, this page gives an overview of graphic novels, publishers, and genres.
Wikipedia, s.v. “List of Native American superheroes (1965-1967),”
last modified September 27, 2018.
This page attempts to document any Native American super hero in a comic medium, particularly those indigenous to North, South or Central America. Characters are listed both by publishing house and genre (print, television, film and/or video game). Page also links to other guides, including Marvel and DC.
University of Maryland, “Graphic Novels & Comics.” Accessed March 21, 2019.
As part of their pathfinder on graphic novels and comics, the University of Maryland (UMD) offers users a comprehensive list of external resources for locating materials. Under the section “Comic Research Libraries and Collections” patrons will find hyperlinks to American and international university libraries, as well as the Library of Congress. All sites are publicly viewable, but some require university-specific credentials to check out materials.