LibGuides: History of Native American Education in Kansas: Databases

Notable Quote: Lomawaima & McCarty

"The history of American Indian education has been one of relentless attempts by both secular and religious agencies to standardize, assimilate, and recast Native people....those standardizing practices have not gone uncontested by Native communities. " (Lomawaima & McCarty, p. 166)

Lomawaima, K. T., & McCarty, T. (2006). To Remain an Indian: Lessons in Democracy from a Century of Native American Education. New York, NY: Teachers College Press.

Database Resources

These databases are not publicly available. As a student, staff or faculty at Haskell University, you may access these resources. Or, you are welcome to visit the Haskell Library and use our resources in person. Our staff are happy to assist you.

American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Collections from the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum BIA records and Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes can also be accessed.

Indian Claims Insight
Research tool to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims against the U.S. Government. The collection includes docket materials for all Indian Claims Commission cases, as well as cases that preceded and followed the existence of the commission.

The American Indian Experience
As part of The American Mosaic series, this database provides in-depth coverage on indigenous peoples of North America. Search by Category, Era, State, Region, or by Tribe. The American Indian Experience occasionally needs a user name and password. USERNAME: Haskell PASSWORD: Indian