Tommaney Library: American Indian Language Revitalization: Online Resources

How to find additional online resources

To find more online resources select a search engine of your choice and use a combination of the key terms below in your query:
- "American Indian"
- "Native American"
- "Language Revitalization"
- "Language Revival"
- "Websites"
- "Resources"
- "Audio sources"
- "Documentaries"
- "Podcasts"
- "Applications"
- "Texts"

How to use these online resources

Clicking on any of the images or links in the center panel will redirect you to the respective website where you can browse the various resources offered.
The links listed under "Multimedia Resources" provide access to a short documentary and an NPR episode.
The websites listed under "Online Resources" offer extensive links to audio and visual sources, alphabets, texts, and language applications that support American Indian language revitalization.

Multimedia Resources

Marie's Dictionary - Short Documentary
This short documentary tells the story of Marie Wilcox, the last fluent speaker of the Wukchumni language and the dictionary she created in an effort to keep her language alive.
Endangered Languages
An episode from NPR's program Talk of the Nation discussing endangered and dying languages.

Online Resources

Index of Native American Language Resources on the Internet
This website is a free online resource. It provides a variety of links related to general language resources such as advocacy groups, American Indian texts, documentaries, and audio sources. There is coverage of the three major regions in the Americas as well as a few links to other non-American regions. This source is ideal for general information, but can very well lead to more specific instances of information.
Native Languages of the Americas
This non-profit organization serves to preserve, maintain, and advocate American Indian languages. This website utilizes Google search within the site providing access to sources and links beyond their coverage. A few of their resources are listed as an alphabetical master list of Amerindian languages, language families, vocabulary words, and collections for texts. This is a good resource for those interested in learning or mapping languages.
Native Village Language Library
Dubbed “the Best Language Website on the Internet” by the American Indian Review Magazine this easily navigable website hosts a collection of research and resources on indigenous languages. Boasting 500 links to tools and resources such as sound and video files, language applications, NPR podcasts, and documentaries this website is easily the go-to source for educators, parents, and students. Designed to be “kid safe,” there is lots of content to sift through, however, users should be aware these links are connected to third-party sites and content does change.
Teaching Indigenous Languages
Maintained by Northern Arizona University this compendium of resources provides access to books, conferences, articles, subject index and links based off the conference proceedings from the 1994 through 2008 Stabilizing Indigenous Languages conferences, the 2000 Learn in Beauty conference and the 1989 Native American Language Issues Institute conference. Comprised of nine monographs this website focuses on linguistic, educational, and socio-political issues related to language revitalization. This is a source utilized by language scholars, researchers, and educators around the world.