Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

#NoDAPL: The Dakota Access Pipeline Protests

This LibGuide is intended to assist patrons who are interested in learning more about NoDAPL’s historical context, #NoDAPL visual art and related struggles.

Databases

Alt-PressWatch. 1970-present. (ProQuest).

Updated monthly, the database, Alt-Press Watch provides full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press in America. Search for “NoDAPL” for a range of magazine and newspaper article results. Add “timeline” for a timeline of the protests. Add “criminalization” and/or “repression” for resources on the treatment of water protectors by police and private security forces. Use "indigenous resistance" AND “pipeline” to find articles about related struggles.

Bibliography of Native North Americans. 1500-present. (EBSCOhost).

Bibliography of Native North Americans (BNNA) is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. To narrow search to academic articles, which are not included in Alt-PressWatch database listed above, change source types to “Academic Journals.”

Online Resources

#NoDAPL Archive - Standing Rock​ Water Protectors - No Dakota Access Pipeline.

The #NoDAPL Archive contains links to resources that include photo, video, interviews and articles about NoDAPL, as well as resources about related struggles and solidarity actions taken outside of Standing Rock. The site it not easily searchable. To browse, use the drop-down links at the top of the page or click on “Site Map” for an outline of (and links) to all sections.

"#StandingRockSyllabus.” NYC Stands with Standing Rock.

Created by a collective of NYC-based Indigenous scholars and activists and settler/People of Color supporters, the Standing Rock Syllabus compiles key terms, a map of Oceti Sakowin Oyate Territory and Treaty Boundaries, a timeline of United States settler-colonialism, an extensive list of readings by subject and PDFs for every reading. You can access the syllabus through the link above. On the same page, you can download a PDF of the syllabus with or without attached readings.

The Dakota Access Pipeline: Native American Perspectives LibGuide

The Dakota Access Pipeline: Native American Perspectives Lib Guide

This LibGuide created by Indigenous librarian Sarah Kostelecky is the most thorough LibGuide available on NoDAPL. It includes primary resources; news articles, editorials and op-eds; national, tribal and international organizations; data; books; government information; cartoons, photographs, video and audio. Start your research here, especially if you are interested in referencing Native news coverage, primary resources such as treaties and tweets or the tribal, national and international organizations involved in the struggle.