A Walking Tour of Haskell Indian Nations University. Lawrence, KS: Haskell Indian Nations University.
Even if you are not physically at Haskell, you can still learn a lot about the university through this walking tour of all of the main buildings on HINUs campus. It discusses when parts of campus were built and gives context on how the school transformed through the years. Although this guide is not excessively detailed, it is still a great way to familiarize yourself with Haskell’s campus and how certain buildings came to be.
Haskell Cultural Center and Museum: Museum Collections and Archives. Haskell Indian Nations University, November 10, 2016.
The website for Haskell’s Cultural Center and Museum lists all the collections they physically hold on their campus including print copies of student newspapers and yearbooks; historical photograph collections of Haskell’s campus, students, and staff; and an oral history library with oral interviews of tribal leaders. There are also ethnographic objects from tribal cultures and fine art from Haskell community and American Indian artists. This resource is useful for students at Haskell or members of the community who are able to visit campus and see physical artifacts that showcase what the school used to look like and focus on.
The Haskell Indian Nations University college football team in 1926. Image from The Guardian
The Indian Leader. 1897 - present. Haskell Indian Nations University.
Founded in 1897 and continuing to today, The Indian Leader is the oldest Native American student newspaper. The newspaper currently features several articles a month on various issues concerning Haskell, HINU students, general news, op-eds, environmental news, and sports news. The website features a search function at the top of the page to search within issues from April 2017-present. Articles before this point will not show up in the website’s search function but an archive featuring digitized versions of their print editions from 2001-2020 is also available on the Tommaney Library website. Editions before 2001 are currently in the process of being digitized. The Indian Leader is important for those who are interested in the student perspective of attending Haskell from different points in its history.
Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education. 1989 - present.
Fed up with mainstream institutions’ failure to serve the needs of American Indian students, Paul Boyer founded the Tribal College Journal of American Indian Higher Education. The journal has historically given American Indian educators a place to exchange ideas during a revolutionary time in tribal college history. The archives of former issues are found on the “Archives” tab on the website’s main menu, where you can search by keyword or by year of publication. The website also offers a search function for users to find up-to-date information and recent news on Haskell not included in the journal. This source is a must-see for those without access to databases and other paid sources.
School History. Haskell Indian Nations University, November 10, 2016.
Haskell Indian Nations University’s official history as told by the school is featured on this website. It provides a concise history of the institution from when it was established as a boarding school in 1884 to the current day. This webpage only takes a few minutes to read and serves as a great starting point for further research into HINUs history.