Tommaney Library: Haskell History: Recommended Databases

Start Here!

This site is Tommaney Library’s official list of databases it subscribes to for students. This is the page you should begin with if you want to search for articles from academic journals. It explains what each database specializes in and sometimes offers instructions for the resources with more complicated login procedures.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Students often use this database as a starting point to identify key resources. Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database and has more than 5,300 full text periodicals.

ProQuest

ProQuest EBook Central
ProQuest is unique in the fact that it contains journals, newspapers, and ebooks. Many books in the Tommaney Library Catalog are able to be accessed digitally through ProQuest eBook Central. Due to its unique wealth of sources not available in other databases, ProQuest is definitely worth a search or two.
American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971
Collections from the U.S. National Archives and the Chicago History Museum BIA records and Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes can also be accessed.
Indian Claims Insight
Research tool to understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history, as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims against the U.S. Government.

Ethnic NewsWatch

One unique feature in ProQuest is its Ethnic NewsWatch section. Newspapers, magazines, and journals from historically marginalized groups can be found in Ethnic NewsWatch. Its main time scope ranges from 1959-present.

JSTOR

JSTOR
A multi-disciplinary Archive Collection providing Full Text access to the complete run of core scholarly journals, current to within 2-5 years.
Arts and Sciences IV — Business & Economics; Education
Arts and Sciences V — History; Language & Literature
Life Sciences — Biological Sciences; Ecology & Botany; Health; General Sciences

American Indian Studies

The American Indian Studies collection features journals like the American Indian Quarterly and the Journal of American Indian Education. It examines aspects of American Indian education and culture mainly from the mid-20th century to present day.

History

While the History collection is quite broad, it still provides general information on Native American boarding schools and tribal colleges.

EBSCO

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Hosted by EBSCO, the America History and Life collection contains full-text history journals on topics covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
Humanities Full Text
Provides access to articles from over 300 periodicals and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Articles regarding native culture, identity, struggles, and history can be found in the Bibliography of Native North Americans through EBSCO.